Editorial Board

The Editorial Board is made up of Associate and Assistant Editors who partner to edit two to four accepted/peer-reviewed manuscripts per year. Online training is provided to all editors prior to editing of your first manuscript.

Associate Editors have completed a PhD.

Assistant Editors are current doctoral students.

Associate Editors

  • Laura Brogden—Peninsula College, Port Angeles, WA
  • Scott Bye—Old Dominion University, Norfolk, VA
  • Monique Colclough—Northern Virginia Community College, Alexandria VA
  • Sherry Early—Marshall University South Charleston, South Charleston, WV
  • Vivienne Felix—New York University, New York, NY
  • Jennifer Johnson—Bowie State University, Bowie, MD
  • Bobak Kasrai—Northern Virginia Community College, Woodbridge, VA
  • Thai-Huy Nguyen—Seattle University, Seattle, WA
  • Symphony Oxendine—University of North Carolina at Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
  • Sean Robinson—Morgan State University, Baltimore, MD
  • Jamey Rorison—Institute for Higher Education Policy, Washington, DC
  • Cecile Sam—Rowan University, Glassboro, NJ
  • Kellie Sorey—Tidewater Community College, Norfolk, VA
  • Patrick Tompkins—Thomas Nelson Community College, Newport News, VA
  • Darryl Tyndorf—Aurora University, Aurora, IL

Assistant Editors

  • Rachel Friedensen—University of Massachusetts Amherst, Amherst, MA
  • Qiana Green—Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI
  • Josh Howell—Old Dominion University, Norfolk, VA
  • Tiffany Menard—Bowling Green State University, Bowling Green, OH
  • Michael Moore—Old Dominion University, Norfolk, VA
  • Eric Styles—Tidewater Community College, Norfolk, VA
  • Rebecca Woulfe—Arapahoe Community College, Littleton, CO
  • Nioud Gebru—University of Florida, Gainesville, FL

Copy Editors

  • Christina Clarke—Old Dominion University, Norfolk, VA
  • Diane Dougherty—Old Dominion University, Norfolk, VA
  • Katy Mathuews—Ohio University, Athens, OH
  • Beth Solomon—Clemson University, Clemson, SC
  • Editor Resources 

    APHE Publishing Team

      The APHE Publishing Team is made up of ODU staff, students, and alumni who manage the publication process in partnership with the APHE Editorial Board.

    • Faculty Advisor—Dr. Monica Esqueda, Assistant Professor, Old Dominion University
    • Managing Editor—Peggy Gesing, Doctoral Candidate, Old Dominion University
    • Managing Editor in Training--Courtney Jane Belmonte, Doctoral Student, Old Dominion University
    • Marketing Director—Amy Kurfist, Doctoral Student, Old Dominion University
    • Managing Copy Editor--Michelle Ryder, Doctoral Student, Old Dominion University
    • Editorial Assistant--Caroline Neal, Master's Student, Old Dominion University

    Join the Publishing Team: APHE Publishing Team Application

    Recognition & Benefits 

    APHE lists editor’s name and affiliation on the APHE website

    The APHE is a non-profit publication and operates through the voluntary services of board members and editors.  No remuneration is provided authors or editors.