Date of Award

Spring 1993

Document Type


Degree Name

Master of Arts (MA)



Committee Director

Anita Clair Fellman

Committee Member

Philip Raisor


The Red Hawk's Cry, a collection of twenty-eight poems, is arranged in three sections. "Calling It Back," the first section, consists of eight poems. The title and the poem rely on the concept of resurrecting people, the past, and pieces of the self in order to release them. Several of the poems' subjects are childhood and the personal mythology one weaves growing up. "Dialogue" has nine poems which revolve around relationships with lovers and friends. Though there appears to be a chronological order, the poems are placed more for interplay than for a constructed time line. The final section, "The Red Hawk's Cry," contains eleven poems whose subjects are varied. A unifying concept of the three sections and the poems in each is that creating images, metaphors, and myths is a process which encourages understanding of experiences, other people, and one's self.