President's Lecture Series: Susan Sontag, 25th Annual ODU Literary Festival


Susan Sontag

Document Type

Featured Participant

Festival Date



Webb Center

Author/Artist Bio

Susan Sontag is one of America's best known and most admired writers. Among her books - which are translated in 28 languages - are four novels: The Benefactor, Death Kit, The Volcano Lover, and In America, which won the 2000 National Book Award for fiction. She has also published a collection of stories, I, etcetera; several plays, including Alice in Bed; and five books of essays, among them On Photography, which won the National Book Critics Circle Prize for criticism, Illness as Metaphor, and most recently, Where the Stress Falls.

Ms. Sontag has written and directed four feature-length films and has also directed plays in the United States and Europe, most recently a production of Beckett's Waiting for Godot in besieged Sarajevo. From 1990 to 1995, she held a fellowship from the MacArthur Foundation. In 2001 she received the Jerusalem Prize for the body of her work.


Sontag was selected for the President's Lecture Series and presented on Thursday, October 3rd, 2002 at 8:00 p.m.


No video available.

This document is currently not available here.