Jane Hirshfield, 37th Annual ODU Literary Festival


Jane Hirshfield

Document Type

Featured Participant

Festival Date



Chandler Recital Hall, Diehn Center for the Performing Arts

Author/Artist Bio

Award-winning poet, essayist and translator JANE HIRSHFIELD is the author of several collections of verse, including Come, Thief (2011); After (2006), shortlisted for the T.S. Eliot prize; and Given Sugar, Given Salt (2001), a finalist for the National Book Critics Award. Hirshfield has also translated the work of early women poets in collections such as The Ink Dark Moon: Poems by Ono no Komachi and Izumi Shikibu, Women of the Ancient Court of Japan (1990) and Women in Praise of the Sacred: Forty-Three Centuries of Spiritual Poetry by Women (1994). Her work draws from a broad range of Eastern and Western traditions.


Hirshfield read on Friday, October 10th, 2014 at 7:30 p.m.


No video available.

This document is currently not available here.